4th Edition of ASCA National Model Released

Alexandria, VA - The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) has released the 4th Edition of the ASCA National Model.  The ASCA Model is a frame work for comprehensive school counseling programs.  The most significant changes from the 3rd Edition are changes in vocabulary to align with current education vocabulary.  For example the names of the 4 quadrants of The Model have changed from nouns to verbs.  The Model is designed to show what school counselors do, making verbs a better choice.  One such change was renaming the "Accountability" quadrant to "Assess".  Accountabilitiy was a focus of the "No Child Left Behind" era and unfortunately that term under "No Child Left Behind" made some educators and school counselors uneasy as it was too often misused to assigned blame to educators and as a result left some school counselors hesitant to embrace the model for fear the data would fall short of projections.  The change in terminology is intended to inspire and support school counselors instead of being an impairment to implementation. Nebraska School Counselors will be able to learn about all the changes in the model at the 2019 NSCA School Counselor Academy being held November 7th and 8th in Kearney, NE. 

Elementary Conference Sees Record Attendance

Nebraska City, NE - The 32nd Annual Elementary School Counselor Conference took place on April 5th.  This was the first year that the conference fell under the NSCA umbrella.  Heather Forbes spent the day sharing her knowledge and expertise about working with trauma impacted students.  The conference saw a record high attendance with over 150 counselors in attendance.  Amongst the attendees were several representaives from the Nebraska State Education Association (NSEA) including NSEA Executive Director, Maddie Fennell.  The 33rd Annual Elementary School Counselor Conference is scheduled for April 3, 2020.

Rachel Catlett is 2019 Nebraska School Counselor of the Year

Lincoln, NE (February 19, 2019) - On a snowy evening at the Embassy Suites Lincoln, Rachel Catlett was announced as the 2019 Nebraska School Counselor of the Year at the 1st Annual NSCA School Counselor of the Year Dinner.  Rachel is a middle school counselor in the Grand Island Public School District. Also recognized at the dinner were school counselor of the year finalists, Angie Meyer and Erin Malm, both work in the Omaha Public School District.  Three semi-finalist were also celebrated and they were Jodi Hansen - Tekahma-Herman Public Schools, Kristin Henkenius - Fremont Public Schools, and Stephanie Hames - South Sioux City Public Schools.  The honorees were joined at the dinner by their families and friends, the NSCA Governing Board, Matt Blomstedt - Nebraska Commissioner of Education, Donna Hoffman - NDE School Counseling Specialist, and numerous NSCA Past Presidents.  Rachel will represent Nebraska in the American School Counselor Association's 2020 national School Counselor of the Year competition.

2019 School Counselor Academy

November 7th and 8th
Holiday Inn Kearney

Registration opens August 15th

Now accepting proposals for breakout session presentations.

More Information